Spring Clean With Me- Makeup Bag Edit

Hey everyone! Today I’m chatting about spring cleaning. Now, although I’m  pretty organised in most areas of my life, the same cannot be said of my makeup collection. That’s why this February, I’m trying to mend my beauty ways, paving the way for radiant summer skin.

Here’s how I give my  beauty collection the spring clean treatment.

1) Get Your Dates Right 

There is a common misconception that beauty  products can’t go out of date. Although it is true that dry products (like eye shadow) can last for a year or more, other products are significantly less durable.

Once a product is opened, it becomes susceptible to contamination by micro-organisms, from both our skin and the air. Products such as mascara, liquid eyeliner, foundation, and lip-gloss (which all have a high-water ratio) are particularly vulnerable.

You should be wary of products which have separated out into layers, undergone a change in colour, or begun to emit an unusual odour.

Many beauty products have a special icon on the back of their packaging, indicating the lifespan of the product. Always look for this while sorting out your beauty collection.

You may be reluctant to toss away your favourite foundation, but it is worth being cautious, as out of date products are breeding grounds for bacteria and can contribute to bad skin and infections.

2). Don’t Forget Your Brushes!

Makeup brushes collect oil, dirt, and bacteria, which can all clog pores and cause breakouts.  To avoid this, you should try to clean your brushes once a week.

If you don’t know how to clean your makeup brushes, the process is easy.

  1. First, you should run the bristles under lukewarm water to remove any excess makeup or dirt.
  2. Next, wash the bristles using a gentle cleanser. I use a cleanser because shampoo and antibacterial soap can irritate sensitive skin.
  3. Wash away the cleanser with warm water. Finally, pat the brushes dry and re-arrange the bristles.

img_1650

3. Stick To The 12 Week Rule

I don’t know about you, but over the course of numerous Christmases and Birthdays, I have accumulated a vast collection of unwanted beauty products.

To combat makeup hoarding, discard items that you have failed to use over the last 3 months. Decluttering is very satisfying and downsizing your makeup collection will give you more space for future beauty hauls.

img_0095

4) Give A Little Gift!

If you have unwanted beauty products that are still in-date, then why not pass them on to a friend? They will be grateful for the surprise gift and you’ll feel great, knowing that your unwanted products are being enjoyed by someone else.

5) Pretty Storage Solutions

Now that you have dealt with all of your old and unwanted products, it’s time to find some sexy new storage solutions to keep your beauty and skincare collection organised. Tidy away your makeup in wicker or wire baskets, display your makeup brushes in empty jam jars and keep hair ties in a trendy copper bowl.

DSC01205.JPG

I hope that you found my tips useful and I would love to hear about your Spring cleaning ideas.

Danielle xxx

(Supported by Soap & Glory)

21 thoughts on “Spring Clean With Me- Makeup Bag Edit

  1. Hi 🙂

    Your writing is crisp and to the point. I love it. And I learned something (very) new about makeup; I didn’t know products had expiration dates! I actually keep my makeup for over one year because I barely wear it, but now I’ll definitely keep this in mind.

    Like

  2. I enjoyed your blog Danielle, while putting on my makeup this morning I spring cleaned my make up bag. Despite using them every day I hadn’t noticed how worn my make up sponges were. As you said these must be a source of bacteria and all that dried foundation must clog the pores. I followed your recommendation in a previous blog and purchased a Sexy Mother Pucker lip gloss (Bare Enough). I am loving it. I didn’t use anything on my lips before mainly because I couldn’t seem to put on lipstick properly. The lip gloss is so easy to use and my lips look and feel so much better.

    Like

    1. Thanks! That was actually taken at the Soap and Glory HQ in London. They have shelves full of beauty and skincare products. I thought that I’d died and gone to beauty heaven! And I’ll definitely take a look at more of your posts. I love getting to know other bloggers 😀 xx

      Like

    1. Thanks for your comment! It’s hard to motivate yourself to have a sort out sometimes, but it’s really rewarding to declutter! And it’s a great excuse to treat yourself for things that you actually do need 😉 xx

      Like

Leave a Reply

